From Virender Sehwag to David Warner, these are the top 5 Delhi Capitals players of all time.

Top 5 All-Time Favourite Delhi Capitals, From Virender Sehwag To David Warner

The Delhi Capitals (DC) are one of three active franchises that have yet to win the coveted IPL championship. They are the only squad that did not qualify for the final.

If great players alone can win the IPL trophy for their teams, Delhi Capitals should have won it numerous times by now, with players like Virender Sehwag, AB de Villiers, Tillakaratne Dilshan, David Warner, and Yuvraj Singh all having played for the squad at some point.

As a result, it’s a proven truth that cricket is a team sport that requires all 11 players to work together to win. In 2019, DC made it to the tournament’s playoffs for the first time in 7 years.

1. Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer took over as captain from none other than Gautam Gambhir, a local lad who stepped down after failing to perform with the bat in the first few games of the IPL 2018. The burden was put on Iyer right on since he not only had to fill the large shoes of IPL’s third most successful captain Gambhir, but he also had to lead a squad that included Glenn Maxwell, Trent Boult, and Amit Mishra, all of whom were senior to him.

2. Virender Sehwag

Virender Sehwag was a surprise selection for a variety of reasons, all of which were compelling. In the first season, Sehwag was the ‘Icon’ player for Delhi Capitals (previously known as Delhi Daredevils). He stayed with the club until 2013. The right-hand batsman’s home venue is the Arun Jaitley Stadium (Feroz Shah Kotla stadium), where he has amassed 2,382 runs at a strike rate of 158.37 throughout his DC career.

3. David Warner

David Warner, another pocket-sized dynamo, will be Virender Sehwag’s partner. The left-handed right-hand batting combination of the Australian batter and his partner will assist and disturb the opposition spinners. While Sehwag prefers to just observe and strike the ball, Warner is also adept at shifting gears depending on the scenario. Warner is one of just seven batters in DC history to achieve 1,000 runs.

4. Kevin Pietersen

We can all agree that Kevin Pietersen is one of the most graceful and yet devastating batsmen to have ever played the game. It takes a particular kind of person to approach a fast bowler and smack him over the head. Kevin Pietersen was a pioneer in the field of cricket. The switch-hit shot’s creator is also a terrific fielder with a sharp cricketing mind. At DC, he had a 37.33 average.

5. Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant entered the IPL 2019 with all guns blazing. In 2019, he was DC’s second-highest run-scorer. His outstanding performance earned him a spot on India’s World Cup team for 2019. The hitter was chosen solely on the basis of his batting abilities. With no wicket-keeping responsibilities, the young batter may focus only on helping his side win the game.